The Award Winners - TAAFI 2013

by Mike Weiss

The competition was fierce and we are grateful to the contributing filmmakers of 2013. And the Taffy's go to:

Lifetime Achievement 2013

Ray Harryhausen (Awarded posthumously to the Ray and Diana Harryhausen Foundation). Thank you, for entertaining millions and influencing thousands of animators and filmmakers, Mr. Harryhausen.


Audience Choice Award 2013

Awarded by you!

Honourable Mentions by screening category...

Shorts 1 - Straight Up Toons - Lemons dir. Kate Burck | USA, 2012

Shorts 2: The Reflecting Pool - Le Vagabond De Saint Marcel - dir. Rony Hotin (France, 2013)

Shorts 4 - Hilariously Strange & Incredibly Dark - I, Pet Goat II - dir. Louis Lefebvre | Canada, 2012

Kid Shorts - Peregrina - dir. Taha Yasin | Canada, 2012

Student Shorts - I am Tom Moody - dir. Ainslie Henderson | UK, 2012


And the WINNER garnering the most votes is...

I Hate You Red Light (Canada/Colombia, 2012) - dir. M.R. Horhager and Juan Manuel Urbina (part of Shorts 3 - Stylin’)


Juried Awards 2013

Best Student Short Film 2013

Awarded by Claudia Sicondolfo (Canada), Team Leader and Education Specialist, National Programs at National Film Board of Canada.

I Am Tom Moody (UK, 2012) - dir. Ainslie Henderson


Best Canadian Short Film 2013

Awarded by Anand Gurnani (India), CoFounder, CEO, Managing Editor -

Bydlo (2012) - dir. Patrick Bouchard

Best International Short 2013

Awarded by jurist by Anja Struck (Germany), Director

Feral - dir. Daniel Sousa


Grand Prix 2013

Awarded by Jerry Beck (USA), Founder Cartoon Research. Founder, Cartoon Brew.

Le Vagabond De Saint Marcel - dir. Rony Hotin (France, 2013)

Thank you to all of the filmmakers that participated in TAAFI 2013. You made this year's event a winner!